Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken (Hardcover)

Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken By Nita Tyndall Cover Image

Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken (Hardcover)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1270 5th Street NE)
1 on hand, as of Dec 4 9:34am

“A heartbreaking and bittersweet novel about the need for queer joy even in the midst of the horrors of war. The ending had me in tears.”—Malinda Lo, New York Times bestselling and National Book Award–winning author of Last Night at the Telegraph Club

For fans of Ruta Sepetys and Malinda Lo, a heart-wrenching queer historical YA romance set in the Swing Youth movement of World War II Berlin

Charlotte Kraus would follow Angelika Haas anywhere. Which is how she finds herself in an underground club one Friday night the summer before World War II, dancing to contraband American jazz and swing music, suddenly feeling that anything might be possible.

Unable to resist the allure of sharing this secret with Geli, Charlie returns to the club again and again, despite the dangers of breaking the Nazi Party’s rules. Soon, terrified by the tightening vise of Hitler’s power, Charlie and the other Swingjugend are drawn to larger and larger acts of rebellion. But the war will test how much they are willing to risk—and to lose.

From the critically acclaimed author of Who I Was with Her, this beautifully told story of hope, love, and resistance will captivate readers of Girl in the Blue Coat and Last Night at the Telegraph Club.

Nita Tyndall is an award-winning queer author and literary translator whose writing and translations have appeared on Autostraddle and in World Literature Today. They are also the author of Who I Was with Her and Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken. They currently live in North Carolina.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063087446
ISBN-10: 0063087448
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English

“A heartbreaking and bittersweet novel about the need for queer joy even in the midst of the horrors of war. The ending had me in tears.”  — Malinda Lo, New York Times bestselling and National Book Award–winning author of Last Night at the Telegraph Club

“Layers and layers of secrecy, the constant terror of being caught, the ecstatic joy of being with other Swing Kids—these elements combine to create an engaging, vivid scene. A compelling story." — Booklist (starred review)

"A powerful story of complicity and resistance in WW2 Germany, and a reminder that we all have a choice to make in the face of oppression. Its jaw-dropping ending will live in your heart long after you finish this book." — Jordyn Taylor, author of The Paper Girl of Paris

“Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken captured my heart from the very first lines and held me breathless to the end. The feelings between these girls—in friendship and in love—are as intense as the situation in Berlin as World War II rages on around them. Perfect for Code Name Verity fans looking for their next tale of wartime devotion.” — Kip Wilson, author of White Rose

“A captivating story about coming of age during World War II.” — School Library Journal

“An intensely heartfelt tale of high-stakes rebellion that will sweep readers all the way to the novel’s gut-wrenching conclusion." — Publishers Weekly

Praise for Who I Was With Her: "A beautiful, poised, and thought-provoking debut about love, loss, coming out, and discovering living life on your own terms." New York Times bestselling author Kathleen Glasgow

"Rival cross-country high school athletes Corinne and Maggie are lovers but have kept their relationship a secret; when Maggie dies, Corinne is left to grieve alone. The story is told in alternating before/after timelines, so readers experience Corinne’s romance with Maggie as well as the aftermath of her death. Suspense is ramped up well as the plot develops to reveal who else knew about but kept their relationship a secret, why, and at what cost. The focus on bisexuality is welcome." — Kirkus Reviews