Only for a Little While (Hardcover)

Only for a Little While By Gabriela Orozco Belt, Richy Sánchez Ayala (Illustrator) Cover Image

Only for a Little While (Hardcover)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Apr 19 1:20am

A heartwarming picture book with Spanish words woven in, about a father helping his daughter adjust when they temporarily have to move in with extended family. Perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motorcycle and Where Are You From.

When Maribel's family has to move in with Tía Carmen because Papi lost his job, Maribel and her sister feel unsettled.

It’s not always easy sharing a room or being in a house full of loud cousins, but Papi reminds the girls that it’s only por un ratito—just for a little while. In the meantime, there is always someone to play with, the mealtimes are filled with music and laughter, and bedtime is for snuggling in tight. Maribel realizes that maybe being there por un ratito isn’t so bad after all.

From debut author Gabriela Orozco Belt and artist Richy Sánchez Ayala comes a moving story about family and change—and how love is always the constant.

Gabriela Orozco Belt is a Costa Rican American writer who knows about family, change, and love. She has a large, loving family, and while she moved often as a child, she now calls the Mojave Desert home. Gabriela is a school librarian and Only for a Little While is her debut picture book. You can visit Gabriela at gabrielabelt.com.



Richy Sanchez Ayala is a visual development artist and illustrator from the Dominican Republic. He has created art for several picture books. You can visit him at richyart.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063206632
ISBN-10: 0063206633
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 32
Language: English

“Both English and Spanish texts of this title convey a calm, peaceful tone, especially with the depiction of an experience that would be stressful for a family, and particularly for children. Maribel looks on the bright side and reminds readers that nothing lasts forever. VERDICT Both editions are excellent choices for picture book collections." — School Library Journal

“This story about temporary situations makes for a book that is likely to resonate for a long time.” — Kirkus Reviews

“In this warmhearted debut from Orozco Belt, though living at their relatives’ bustling home isn’t easy, having cousins around means that there’s always a playmate. Sánchez Ayala’s illustrations emphasize this optimistic perspective, centering fond moments and hopes for the family’s future.”  — Publishers Weekly

"Little readers will be absorbed in the lively, richly colored illustrations, which are reminiscent of Joe Cepeda’s artwork and feature thoughtful cultural details. The book’s creators handle a challenging but not uncommon life event with care, especting Maribel’s mixed feelings while retaining a hopeful outlook." — ALA Booklist