The Whispering Fog (Hardcover)

The Whispering Fog By Landra Jennings Cover Image

The Whispering Fog (Hardcover)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
3 on hand, as of Jan 27 5:18am

In this spooky and atmospheric debut contemporary fantasy, Snow White and Rose Red meets the modern world after sisters Neve and Rose’s lives are upended when a swamp witch kidnaps Rose. Perfect for fans of Jodi Lynn Anderson and Katherine Arden.

For twelve-year-old Neve, it’s always been she and her older sister against the world, their lives entwined just like sisters in a fairy tale. So, if Rose loves tennis, Neve will play it too—even if secretly she’d rather be home turning cardboard boxes into offbeat art projects. Not even being moved to the piney woods outside Etters, South Carolina, can change what they are to each other—until a mysterious fog seems to swallow up Rose before Neve’s eyes.

Naturally, the adults don’t believe that something supernatural is at play. So, with the help of Piper, a classmate with a tomato fixation; Sammy, a boy with memories of an otherworldly stranger; and a stray dog that seems to belong to the woods, Neve discovers that her sister has been taken by a swamp-dwelling witch with a terribly wicked plan. It will be up to Neve to save her sister. Otherwise, she’ll be separated from Rose . . . forever

A gorgeous, haunting debut about sisterhood and finding your voice.

Landra Jennings is the author of the middle grade novel, The Whispering Fog. She received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Hamline University. Today, she lives with her family in Greenville, South Carolina, though she grew up roaming the woods of Georgia. If she had discovered a magical pond back then, she definitely would have jumped in. Visit her online at www.landrajennings.com. 

Product Details ISBN: 9780358674559
ISBN-10: 0358674557
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: September 13th, 2022
Pages: 240
Language: English

"With a dose of creepiness and a dash of delight, Landra Jennings brews a bewitching tale of sisterly love, finding your voice, and the value of a good tomato. I love this book."   — Anne Ursu, author of The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

"The Whispering Fog is a dark and twisty retelling of Snow White and Rose Red, with a delicious page-turner of an ending. But underneath the magic, it's a refreshingly honest story about imperfect families, about how sometimes we care best for others by being real with ourselves. I loved it." — Laurel Snyder, author of Orphan Island and My Jasper June

"This riveting retelling of Snow White and Rose Red is eerie and atmospheric, grounded in an extraordinary sibling connection that is given room to shift and evolve . . . a splendidly suspenseful and sinister read with a tender heart." — Booklist

"A swamp full of secrets and a quirky cast of characters combine for a delightfully dark debut." — Kirkus Reviews

"Jennings threads the fantasy and horror elements with the book’s realism with a goosebump-inducing precision while infusing the story with small details that leap off the page. . . Hand this to fans of Doll Bones (BCCB 06/13) and middle graders looking for a spooky blend of horror and folklore."   — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books