Attrib. and Other Stories (Paperback)

Attrib. and Other Stories Cover Image
$16.00
In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
9 on hand, as of Jul 24 9:20pm
Politics and Prose at 70 District Square SW
1 on hand, as of Jul 24 9:33pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market
2 on hand, as of Jul 24 10:33pm

Description


A dazzling, prizewinning short story collection that showcases a bold new talent


"Williams delights not simply in wordplay but also in people who are alive to the poignant and humorous potential of language." —The New Yorker
 
"It's just the real inexplicable gorgeous brilliant thing this book. I love it in a way I usually reserve for people." —Max Porter


Eley Williams has been a literary sensation ever since this collection of experimental short fiction was published in the UK. Lauded as "elegant" (The Guardian) and "exhilarating" (Vanity Fair), Attrib. and Other Stories won the James Tait Black Prize, was longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize, and was named a best book of the year by The Guardian.

Attrib. presents a cast of unforgettable characters standing at the precipice of emotional events (a disastrous breakup, a successful date, an unexpected arrival) and finding it fiendishly impossible to express themselves. With intimate, irreverent, and playful prose, Eley Williams rejoices in both the possibilities and limitations of language, as well as the very human need to be known and understood--despite our own best efforts.

Original and inventive in the vein of Lydia Davis, Deborah Eisenberg, and Amy Hempel, these stories are "emotionally delicate and tenderly introspective" (New Statesman) and "an absolute must-read" (The London Magazine).

About the Author


ELEY WILLIAMS is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. She is the author of The Liar's Dictionary, and her work has appeared in The Penguin Book of the Contemporary British Short Story, Liberating the Canon, The Times Literary Supplement, and London Review of Books. She lives in London.

Praise For…


"Mischief runs through this story collection, evident from the first line...Revelling in playful language and eschewing narrative convention, the stories feature encounters—with a lover, an art work, the natural world—that are endlessly teased out in protagonists’ hyperverbal minds...Williams delights not simply in wordplay but also in people who are alive to the poignant and humorous potential of language."
The New Yorker

"Exhilarating."
Vanity Fair

"Elegant...Vividly imagined."
The Guardian

"She is a writer for whom one struggles to find comparison, because she has arrived in a class of her own: witty, melancholy, occasionally sensual, occasionally mordant, elegantly droll without the kind of hipster quirkiness that makes me want to hurl books at the wall. She has in common with George Saunders the ability to be both playful and profound, and we are lucky to have her."
Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent

"It's just the real inexplicable gorgeous brilliant thing this book. I love it in a way I usually reserve for people."
Max Porter, author of Grief Is the Thing with Feathers

"A jewel box...A work of linguistic exuberance and lyrical meandering."
Kirkus 

"Williams explores pathos and the dictionary with aplomb and a fresh voice. Anglophiles and linguistic schemers will savor this."
Publishers Weekly

"This whimsical, intricate collection of 16 short stories explores the beauty and limitations of language, the triumphs and failures of communication, with brilliant, irreverent prose."
Shelf Awareness

"Think William Gass, Lydia Davis or Anne Carson, and you won't be too wrong."
London Review of Books

"An emotionally delicate and tenderly introspective collection."
New Statesman

"An absolute must-read for anyone remotely interested in the contemporary short story."
The London Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593312353
ISBN-10: 059331235X
Publisher: Anchor
Publication Date: May 18th, 2021
Pages: 160
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card