How to Fake It in Hollywood: A Novel (Paperback)

How to Fake It in Hollywood: A Novel By Ava Wilder Cover Image

How to Fake It in Hollywood: A Novel (Paperback)

$17.00


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Nov 30 5:19pm
Politics and Prose at 70 District Square SW
1 on hand, as of Nov 30 5:33pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market
3 on hand, as of Nov 30 5:33pm
A talented Hollywood starlet and a reclusive A-lister enter into a fake relationship . . . and discover that their feelings might be more than a PR stunt in this sexy debut for fans of Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners.

“A raw, character-driven, and heart-touching read . . . I absolutely loved it.”—Elena Armas, New York Times bestselling author of The Spanish Love Deception


Grey Brooks is on a mission to keep her career afloat now that the end of her long-running teen TV show has her (unsuccessfully) pounding the pavement again. With a life-changing role on the line, she’s finally desperate enough to agree to her publicist’s scheme: fake a love affair with a disgraced Hollywood heartthrob who needs the publicity, but for very different reasons.

Ethan Atkins just wants to be left alone. Between his high-profile divorce, struggles with drinking, and grief over the death of his longtime creative partner and best friend, Ethan has slowly let himself fade into the background. But if he ever wants to produce the last movie he and his partner wrote together, Ethan needs to clean up his reputation and step back into the spotlight. A gossip-inducing affair with a gorgeous actress might be just the ticket, even if it’s the last thing he wants to do.

Though their juicy public relationship is less than perfect behind the scenes, it doesn’t take long before Grey and Ethan’s sizzling chemistry starts to feel like more than just an act. But after decades in a ruthless industry that requires bulletproof emotional armor to survive, are they too used to faking it to open themselves up to the real thing?
Ava Wilder is a contemporary romance writer. After spending most of her life bouncing all over the East Coast, she currently lives in Oklahoma City with her fiancé and their toothless cat. How to Fake It in Hollywood is her first novel. No one is more surprised than she is that her lifelong obsession with pop culture actually led to something useful.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593358955
ISBN-10: 0593358953
Publisher: Dell
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English
“Readers won’t be able to stop reading Wilder’s debut novel.”USA Today

“This empathetic, sexy, utterly radiant book has my whole heart. With their red-hot chemistry, Grey and Ethan are easy to root for, both as a couple and as two creatives navigating rough patches in their careers. How to Fake It in Hollywood is the real deal.”—Rachel Lynn Solomon, bestselling author of The Ex Talk
 
“The banter and sexual tension between Grey and Ethan is fire-emoji immaculate. Ava Wilder doesn’t shy away from exploring the dark side of fame in such a cutthroat industry, and her unforgettable characters’ growth shines all the brighter for it.”—Lillie Vale, author of The Decoy Girlfriend
 
How to Fake It in Hollywood is a fresh, witty, high-emotion story with compelling characters and stylish backdrops. Grey and Ethan’s relationship feels genuine in its messiness and complications, and Ava Wilder’s breathtaking depiction of their highs and lows had me totally invested in their fate. The perfect novel for fans of modern, smart romance.”—Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author of The Cactus

“With this witty, seductive romance, debut author Wilder transports readers to the flashy world of Hollywood. . . . Wilder’s cinematic prose brings Grey and Ethan to life, and she sets their raw, sensitive love story against an alluring portrait of Hollywood glamour. Readers won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“In her debut, Wilder creates an angsty and compelling love story that feels realistically Hollywood. Grey and Ethan’s chemistry burns through the pages. . . . Full of drama, fun, and scorching love scenes, this love story is worthy of the silver screen.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Wilder delivers an emotional punch in her debut novel. . . . Told in chapters alternating between her and him, this tale jumps right into the action in the first few pages when the two are recruited for a PR stunt by their mutual publicist. . . . This strong debut is perfect for readers who enjoy romances with intense feelings, complex issues, and steamy love scenes.”Booklist