B Is for Bananas (Hardcover)

B Is for Bananas By Carrie Tillotson, Estrela Lourenço (Illustrator) Cover Image

B Is for Bananas (Hardcover)

$18.99


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
*"A must-have for all picture book collections." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"An a-peeling alphabet adventure."-- Kirkus reviews

A 2023 Good Housekeeping Kids' Book Award winner!

From the creators of Counting to Bananas, comes a new, hilarious bedtime ABC book about a Banana who doesn’t want to go to bed. Perfect for fans of Jory John, Mo Willems, and Ryan T. Higgins!


A is for Awake . . . but B is for Bedtime. 

When the narrator of this alphabet book tries to make it a bedtime book, Banana objects. Bedtime is BORING! And Banana is the star of this book, so it should really be called B Is for Bananas instead. It shouldn't be about bedtime at all. 

Journey through all the letters of the alphabet in this laugh-out-loud story from Carrie Tillotson and Estrela Lourenço about a banana who is NOT ready to go to bed.

The perfect next read for those who loved the Bad Seed series and Hey Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins!

Praise for B is for Bananas!:

*“Excellent…A silly story that makes you giggle.” – Imagination Soup, starred review

"Full of wordplay and unusual choices to represent each letter of the alphabet ("K is for Keister"), this book stands out for being simultaneously silly and educational."--Good Housekeeping

Wonderfully drawn…A perfect ending to a just-about-perfect bedtime-but-not-really-bedtime tale…Exceptionally good…A wonderful send-up of a bedtime book.” – Infodad.com

“Young readers will love this laugh out loud bedtime story where Banana's silly antics take center stage through all the letters of the alphabet. The amazing illustrations bring Banana, and bedtime fun, to life.” – Kidsbookshelf.com
Before Carrie Tillotson started writing children’s books, she worked as a biostatistician. Her job involved counting a lot of numbers (but not many bananas). She is the author of Counting to Bananas. She lives in Oregon with her family, one dog, and two chickens. Although bananas are not her favorite fruit, she loves a warm slice of banana bread. You can visit Carrie online at carrietillotson.com or follow her on Twitter @carrietillotson and on Instagram @carrietillotson.

Estrela Lourenço is a Portuguese professional children’s book author and illustrator, and also a storyboard artist for animation. She has been living in Ireland since 2009, when she met her Irish partner and their dog, Chewie, who both made her fall in love with the country even more. Her favorite fruit is peaches, but she keeps getting bananas because they’re Chewie’s favorite! You can visit Estrela online at estrelalourenco.pt or follow her on Twitter @LourencoEstrela and on Instagram @estrela.lourenco.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593528068
ISBN-10: 0593528069
Publisher: Flamingo Books
Publication Date: April 11th, 2023
Pages: 32
Language: English
* "This is the toddler book of all toddler books, and one to leave preschoolers squealing. Laughter will be the name of the game every time this book is read; it is hilarious! A little banana is supposed to be ready for bed, but getting ready is the last thing on the menu. Written as an alphabet book, the narration is often co-opted by the little banana. There are also reminders of things to do ­prior to sleep like taking a bath, brushing teeth, “going” and washing hands after. Children will be worn out by this. A must-have for all picture book collections." -School Library Journal, starred review

"Exuberant Banana has as much fun taking control of the alphabet as they did taking over counting. Lourenço returns with digitally created illustrations full of Banana’s bonkers energy and plenty of color. Speech balloons are used throughout as Banana argues with the narrator. Banana might end up tuckered out, but little listeners will probably be supercharged with giggles. An a-peeling alphabet adventure." --Kirkus reviews

*“Excellent…A silly story that makes you giggle…[Banana shows] his wide-awakeness, creativity, and energy!” – Imagination Soup, starred review

“[Filled] with hilarious antics by a banana, my son and I were laughing throughout…This book would make a lovely gift for a newborn bundle or in an elementary classroom to reinforce the alphabet, learn about some figurative language or just have some laughs!” – Story Mamas

Hilarious from beginning to end!” – Picture Book Recommendations

“This is absolutely the CUTEST book!! I loved seeing all of the silly antics as Banana fights against going to bed (while working through the alphabet). The hilarious story by Carrie Tillotson and bright, fun illustrations by Estrela Lourenço make this a perfect bedtime read for both parents and kids! I laughed out loud more than once and so did my kids!...I highly recommend.” - Pie Lady Books
 
“Wonderfully drawn…A perfect ending to a just-about-perfect bedtime-but-not-really-bedtime tale…Exceptionally good…A wonderful send-up of a bedtime book.” – Infodad.com
 
“Young readers will love this laugh out loud bedtime story where Banana's silly antics take center stage through all the letters of the alphabet. The amazing illustrations bring Banana, and bedtime fun, to life.” – Kidsbookshelf.com
 
“From the illustrations to Banana's antics, this was not only edutainment fun, but the promised bedtime story as well… Readers of all ages will love how the story develops, while having a little bit of ABC fun along the way…You've got the brilliantly colored and funny illustrations to dazzle the eyes. It's charming, and witty, and a great time to be had.” – Insatiable Readers Blog

"Full of wordplay and unusual choices to represent each letter of the alphabet ("K is for Keister"), this book stands out for being simultaneously silly and educational.
Tester Note: One reviewer compared the story to the work of another famous kid-lit creator. “The book feels very Mo Willems–esque with its conversational style,” she said."--Good Housekeeping