Curses and Other Buried Things (Hardcover)

Curses and Other Buried Things By Caroline George Cover Image

Curses and Other Buried Things (Hardcover)

$19.99


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days

Blood holds all kinds of curses.

Seven generations of women in Susana Prather's family have been lost to the Georgia swamp behind her house. The morning after her eighteenth birthday, she awakens soaked with water, with no memory of sleepwalking. No matter how she tries to stop it, she's pulled from her safe bed night after night, haunted by her own family history and legacy. Now, the truth feels unavoidable: it's only a matter of time before she loses her mind and the swamp becomes her grave.

Unless she can figure out how to break the curse.

When she isn't sleepwalking, she's dreaming of her great-great-great-great-grandmother, Suzanna Yawn, who set the curse in motion in 1855. Her ancestor's life bears such similarity to her own that it might hold the key she seeks. Or it might only foretell tragedy.

As Susana seeks solutions in the past and the present, family members hold secrets tighter to their chests, friends grow distant, and old flames threaten to sputter and die. But Susana has something no one else has been able to seize: the unflagging belief that all curses can be broken and that love can help a new future begin.

Based on her own family history, award-winning novelist Caroline George's latest novel is a staggeringly beautiful work of hope.

  • Stand-alone young adult contemporary Southern gothic
  • Perfect for fans of Wilder Girls, Dark and Shallow Lies, and Swamplandia
  • Book length: 97,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
Product Details ISBN: 9780785236245
ISBN-10: 0785236244
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 384
Language: English