Lucy Lopez: Coding Star (After-School Superstars #3) (Paperback)

Lucy Lopez: Coding Star (After-School Superstars #3) By Claudia Mills, Grace Zong (Illustrator) Cover Image

Lucy Lopez: Coding Star (After-School Superstars #3) (Paperback)

By Claudia Mills, Grace Zong (Illustrator)

$7.99


In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Oct 5 5:18am

Talented Lucy Lopez finds her passion when she joins an after-school coding camp, but can her older sister come to terms with their shared hobby?

Third-grader Lucy Lopez and her older sister Elena created the Let's Have Fun Club, where they designed their own badges to put in a handbook and make up lists of things they have to do to earn each one.

But now Elena is spending most of her time coding on the computer and Lucy feels left out. She decides to join the after-school coding camp in the hopes that Elena will want to add it to their Let's Have Fun Club activities and it can be something they can do together. But when Lucy proves to be a natural, Elena is none too happy--why does Lucy have to do everything she does?

Parents and kids on the hunt for a fun and informative book about coding need look no further. The series includes Lucy Lopez: Coding Star, Nixie Ness: Cooking Star, and Vera Vance: Comic Book Star in the After-School Superstars series. Perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, this new chapter book series features recurring characters, and each book highlights one activity they do at their after-school program. The books are illustrated in black and white and include a bonus activity that corresponds to the book's plot. Lucy Lopez is being simultaneously released in Hardcover.
Claudia Mills has written many children's books, including 7 x 9 = Trouble!, the Franklin School Friends series, and the Mason Dixon series, and Vera Vance: Comic Book Star. She recently received the Kerlan Award for her contribution to children's literature. Ms. Mills lives in Boulder, Colorado.

Grace Zong has illustrated many books for children, including Our Food: A Healthy Serving of Science and Poems by Grace Lin, Goldy Luck and the Three Pandas by Natasha Yim, Pippa and Percival, Pancake and Poppy: Four Peppy Puppies by Deborah Diesen, and Mrs. McBee Leaves Room 3 by Gretchen Brandenburg McLellan. She divides her time between South Korea and New York.
Product Details ISBN: 9780823449217
ISBN-10: 0823449211
Publisher: Margaret Ferguson Books
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: After-School Superstars
"This illustrated early-chapter book takes on sibling rivalry and STEM themes in a way that will resonate with many readers and encourage them to try new things." —Booklist
 
"This title approaches a common sibling frustration, refreshingly from the less-represented viewpoint of the younger child. Spot art breaks up the text and expands the humor, and back matter provides resources to help those interested in coding find a place to start." —The Horn Book

"Chapter-book readers will enjoy watching Lucy navigate the exciting world of computer coding and the complexities of having an older sister."Kirkus Reviews