Love Is for Losers (Paperback)

Love Is for Losers By Wibke Brueggemann Cover Image

Love Is for Losers (Paperback)

$12.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Apr 18 9:20pm

In this wry and hilarious queer YA romantic comedy, fifteen-year-old Phoebe realizes that falling in love is maybe not just for losers.

Did you know you can marry yourself? How strange / brilliant is that?

Fifteen-year-old Phoebe thinks falling in love is vile and degrading, and vows never to do it. Then, due to circumstances not entirely in her control, she finds herself volunteering at a local thrift shop. There she meets Emma . . . who might unwittingly upend her whole theory on life.

This is a laugh-out-loud exploration of sexuality, family, female friendship, grief, and community. With heart and hilarity, Wibke Brueggemann's sex-positive YA debut is perfect for readers who love Heartstopper and Casey McQuiston.

Wibke Brueggemann grew up in northern Germany and the southern United States, but calls London her home. She originally studied acting at the Academy of Live and Recorded Arts but ended up becoming a writer. She has a Master's in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University, where she was the recipient of the Bath Spa University Writing Award. Wibke enjoys traveling, and is a clandestine lover of romantic poetry and Rennaissance art. She is the author of Love is for Losers and Cupid's Revenge.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250792013
ISBN-10: 1250792010
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English

A Lambda Literary Most Anticipated LGBTQ Book of the Month!
A Junior Library Guild Selection!
A Capitol Choices Selection!


"A sarcastic 15-year-old records angst—about her parents, first love and loss, and failure—in six months of achingly universal journal entries. Via journal entries told in Phoebe’s no-nonsense tone, debut author Brueggemann details the snarky, socially awkward protagonist’s growth as she experiences the messiness of attraction and love, and comes to appreciate the joy and pain of connection. Phoebe’s frequent internet searches and frank narration style manage to both entertain and inform on a wide variety of topics pertaining to sexuality and identity." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"This is ultimately a thoughtful, funny, deeply emotional coming of age story, perfect for readers looking to commiserate with someone puzzling their way through life and love." —Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

"The novel is told in daily diary entries, from New Year’s Day to Phoebe’s birthday in July; the entries reveal an endearing vulnerability under a (very funny) layer of snark." —Horn Book