Murder on the Ballarat Train (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Large Print / Paperback)

Murder on the Ballarat Train (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) By Kerry Greenwood Cover Image

Murder on the Ballarat Train (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Large Print / Paperback)


Special Order—Subject to Availability

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Phryne Fisher Mysteries series.

From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Murder on the Ballarat Train, the next historical mystery featuring the intrepid amateur sleuth Phryne Fisher. What happens when this train reaches its deadly destination? Phryne is determined to find out…

"Greenwood's stories are brief, but she holds her own, writing well-thought-out plots starring the intelligent, sexy, liberated, and wealthy Phryne."—Library Journal

Looking for the perfect historical murder mystery novels? This series hits all the sweet spots:

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Dorothy Sayers

Inspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, starring Essie Davis

Movie Now Streaming on Acorn TV

When the roaring 1920s' most glamorous lady detective, the Honourable Miss Phryne Fisher, arranges to go to Ballarat for the week, she eschews the excitement of her red Hispano-Suiza racing car for the sedate safety of the train. The last thing she expects is to have to use her trusty Beretta .32 to save the passengers' lives. As they sleep, they are poisoned with chloroform.

Phryne is left to piece together the clues after this restful country sojourn turns into the stuff of nightmares with a young girl who can't remember anything, rumors of slavery and black magic, and the body of an old woman missing her emerald rings. Unlike typical 1920s books, Phryne dives right into the fray, convention be damned. Will she be able to derail this mystery train before it's too late? Then there is the rowing team and the choristers, all deliciously engaging young men. They're a pleasant diversions, but they seem to be up to something...

Kerry Greenwood was born in the Melbourne suburb of Footscray and after wandering far and wide, she returned to live there. She has degrees in English and Law from Melbourne University and was admitted to the legal profession on the 1st April 1982, a day which she finds both soothing and significant. Kerry has written three series, a number of plays, including The Troubadours with Stephen D’Arcy, is an award-winning children’s writer and has edited and contributed to several anthologies. The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with Cocaine Blues which was a great success. Kerry has written twenty books in this series with no sign yet of Miss Fisher hanging up her pearl-handled pistol. Kerry says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them. In 2003 Kerry won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Association.

Product Details ISBN: 9781590582480
ISBN-10: 1590582489
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: February 29th, 2012
Pages: 243
Language: English
Series: Phryne Fisher Mysteries