Fallingwater: The Building of Frank Lloyd Wright's Masterpiece (Hardcover)

Fallingwater: The Building of Frank Lloyd Wright's Masterpiece By Marc Harshman, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator), Anna Egan Smucker Cover Image

Fallingwater: The Building of Frank Lloyd Wright's Masterpiece (Hardcover)


Special Order—Subject to Availability

In Bear Run, Pennsylvania, a home unlike any other perches atop a waterfall. The water's tune plays differently in each of its sunlight-dappled rooms; the structure itself blends effortlessly into the rock and forest behind it. This is Fallingwater, a masterpiece equally informed by meticulous research and unbounded imagination, designed by the lauded American architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

This book guides young readers through Wright's process designing Fallingwater, from his initial inspirations to the home's breathtaking culmination. It is a exploration of a man, of dreams, and of the creative process; a celebration of potential. Graceful prose and rich, dynamic illustrations breathe life into the story of Frank and Fallingwater, a man and home utterly unlike any other.

A Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books 2017 Blue Ribbon Book
A National Council for the Social Studies Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People

Marc Harshman is the author of a collection of poems, Believe What You Can (West Virginia University Press), and a dozen children’s books, including One Big Family (Eerdmans). His monthly show for West Virginia Public Radio, “The Poetry Break,” began airing in 2016. He was also an invited reader at the 2016 Greenwich Book Festival in London and is the seventh poet laureate of West Virginia.

LeUyen Pham has illustrated more than one hundred books for children, including the Caldecott Honor book Bear Came Along by Richard T. Morris and the bestselling Princess in Black series by Shannon and Dean Hale. She is the co-creator, along with Shannon Hale, of the bestselling graphic memoirs Real Friends, Best Friends, and Friends Forever. Her own books include The Bear Who Wasn't There and Big Sister, Little Sister. A graduate of the ArtCenter College of Design in Pasadena, LeUyen lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two sons.

Anna Egan Smucker is the author of several children's books including No Star Nights, winner of the International Reading Association Children's Book Award. In addition to writing, reading, and doing author presentations, she loves to hike in the beautiful mountains of her home state of West Virginia.
Product Details ISBN: 9781596437180
ISBN-10: 1596437189
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: October 17th, 2017
Pages: 40
Language: English

“Beautifully rendered . . . Seamlessly blends together a good story, lyrical language, and deft, supporting artwork. This affectionate tribute should appeal to a very wide audience.” —Booklist, starred review

“A warm tribute to the creative genius and style of architect Frank Lloyd Wright.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Lyrical . . . Filled with brightness and clarity . . . The interplay of creativity and execution are lovingly developed here.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Frank Lloyd Wright's genius is revealed for sophisticated picture book readers.” —School Library Journal

“Young builders/dreamers will be inspired by this romantic picture-book account of the conception, design, and construction of the Frank Lloyd Wright house Fallingwater.” —Horn Book