Four Horn Concertos and Concert Rondo (Hardcover)

Four Horn Concertos and Concert Rondo By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Cover Image

Four Horn Concertos and Concert Rondo (Hardcover)


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Master a Keystone of the Classical Horn Repertoire

Mozart's four horn concertos, written between 1783 and 1791 for the accomplished horn player Joseph Leutgeb, are some of the most famous works in the horn repertoire. They are among the last works Mozart wrote before his untimely death.

The first three concertos were all written in the key of E-flat, and the fourth was written in E. The first concerto is perhaps the most famous of the four and is known for its virtuosic solo part and lively outer movements. The second concerto is lyrical and intimate, while the third is expansive and features a particularly beautiful slow movement. The fourth concerto is perhaps the most unique of the four, with its use of a solo horn quartet in the second movement.

Despite their technical demands, Mozart's horn concertos are beloved by horn players and audiences alike for their beauty and elegance. They are a testament to Mozart's genius as a composer, and to his ability to elevate even the humblest of instruments to new heights of musical expression.

This book is also available from Allegro Editions as a paperback (ISBN 1648372376).

Product Details ISBN: 9781648372360
ISBN-10: 1648372368
Publisher: Allegro Editions
Publication Date: April 25th, 2023
Pages: 104
Language: English