The Wire Zoo: How Elizabeth Berrien Learned to Turn Wire into Amazing Art (Hardcover)

The Wire Zoo: How Elizabeth Berrien Learned to Turn Wire into Amazing Art By Natasha Wing, Joanie Stone (Illustrator) Cover Image

The Wire Zoo: How Elizabeth Berrien Learned to Turn Wire into Amazing Art (Hardcover)

By Natasha Wing, Joanie Stone (Illustrator)

$18.99


Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now
This inspirational picture book biography tells the story of how neurodivergent artist Elizabeth Berrien created three-dimensional wire sculptures and went on to become the “godmother” of contemporary wire sculpture, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures.

Elizabeth Berrien has always had a special way of seeing the world. When she looks at animals, her mind imagines energy lines flowing across the surface of their bodies. Thin lines and thick lines. Bright lines and dim lines. The flowing lines make each animal unique and beautiful.

She wondered, How can I copy these lines so others can see them too? Elizabeth isn’t very good at drawing, so she tried many other different kinds of art. But none seemed quite right…until she discovered wire sculpting. And so began her journey of using three-dimensional wire sculptures to share her vision with the world.
Natasha Wing has been publishing children’s books since 1994. She is the author of the popular Night Before series based on “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas”; When Jackie Saved Grand Central: The True Story of Jacqueline Kennedy’s Fight for an American Icon illustrated by Alexandra Boiger; and An Eye for Color: The Story of Josef Albers illustrated by Julia Breckenreid, which was a Junior Library Guild selection and an ALA Notable Book. Natasha lives in Colorado with her husband, Dan, and cat, Purrsia. She collects squished pennies and loves hiking, skiing, and traveling. She also dabbles with watercolors. Learn more at NatashaWing.com.

Joanie Stone lives in the quaint countryside of Virginia where she works illustrating books for children including Secrets of the Sea by Evan Griffith, The World of Emily Windsnap series by Liz Kessler, and The Wire Zoo by Natasha Wing. You can find more of her art on Instagram @JoanieStoneArt.
Product Details ISBN: 9781665940764
ISBN-10: 166594076X
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Publication Date: October 29th, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English