Archives of Joy: Reflections on Animals and the Nature of Being (Hardcover)

Archives of Joy: Reflections on Animals and the Nature of Being By Jean-François Beauchemin, David Warriner (Translator) Cover Image

Archives of Joy: Reflections on Animals and the Nature of Being (Hardcover)

$22.95


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Apr 16 1:21pm
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
1 on hand, as of Apr 16 10:21am

"Beauchemin discovers again and again that happiness is a function of the connection between beings--the nonhuman animals as well as the human."--Maria Popova, A Favorite Book of 2023

For readers of Ross Gay's The Book of Delights comes a joyful, tender memoir of encounters with animals and their potential to transform our lives through joy.

Two mismatched ducks quarrel amorously. A tortoise basks on a rock in the sun. Four deer ceremoniously visit a writer's garden to announce the arrival of a newborn fawn. In Archives of Joy, renowned poet, essayist, and novelist Jean-Fran ois Beauchemin turns his poetic and playful gaze to memories of animals he has known throughout his life, from fleeting encounters to deep relationships. With each meeting, Beauchemin returns to a simple thought: that joy in nature is an essential counterweight to the inescapable awareness of the brevity of life.

In short, humorous, and often dreamlike vignettes, Beauchemin meditates on the mysteries of existence, the alchemy of memory, and the entwinement of the animal world with our own--whether he's nursing an injured bird back to health, deciphering the gaze of a judgmental cat, or keeping company with a workhorse nearing its death.

His life as a writer and his beloved pet dogs and cats feature often, as do the creatures he encounters in his garden, at farms, or on woodland walks: sparrows, crows, deer, foxes, horses, and cows. Deeply restorative, imaginative, and dreamily poetic, Archives of Joy is a memoir that will stay with readers long after its final page.

Product Details ISBN: 9781771649322
ISBN-10: 1771649321
Publisher: Greystone Books
Publication Date: May 16th, 2023
Pages: 160
Language: English