Beyond The Moon (Paperback)

Beyond The Moon By Catherine Taylor Cover Image

Beyond The Moon (Paperback)

$20.99


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Outlander meets Birdsong is this haunting literary timeslip novel, where a strange twist of fate connects a British soldier fighting in the First World War in 1916 with a young woman living in modern-day England a century later.


*Shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Write Your Own Love Story Prize


*Longlisted for the Exeter Novel Prize


"The characterization is spot-on, as is the historical time-line. Beyond the Moon is not only a page-turner but an intelligent appraisal of medicine, psychology and mental illness over the years. Historical fantasy at its very best." - Historical Novel Society


"Beyond the Moon is a stunning debut This impeccably researched and beautifully crafted timeslip novel is historical romantic fantasy at its best. I simply can't wait to see what Catherine Taylor does next " - Constance Sayers, author of A Witch in Time and The Ladies Of The Secret Circus


"Lovely and unique. A love that spans time and enough history to make this WWI nerd's heart flutter" - J'nell Ciesielski, author of The Ice Swan and The Socialite


In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall military hospital in Sussex, England. A gifted artist, he's been wounded fighting in the Great War. Shell shocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems increasingly hopeless.


A century later in 2017, medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother - her only family. Heartbroken, she drowns her sorrows in alcohol on the South Downs cliffs - only to fall accidentally part-way down. Doctors fear she may have attempted suicide, and Louisa finds herself involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall - now a psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly and chaotic place.


Then one day, while secretly exploring the old Victorian hospital's ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa hears a voice calling for help, and stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned hospital room. Inside, lying on the floor, is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was hurt at the Battle of the Somme, a WW1 battle a century ago. And that his name is Lieutenant Robert Lovett...


Two people, two battles: one against the invading Germans on the battlefields of 1916 France, the other against a substandard, uncaring mental health facility in modern-day England. Two journeys begun a century apart, but somehow destined to coincide - and become one desperate struggle to be together.


Part WW1 historical fiction, part timeslip love story - and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art - Beyond The Moon is a debut novel that sweeps the reader on an unforgettable journey through time. An intelligent read, perfect for book clubs. For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amy Harmon, Beatriz Williams, Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.

Product Details ISBN: 9781916093218
ISBN-10: 1916093213
Publisher: Cameo Press Ltd
Publication Date: June 26th, 2019
Pages: 494
Language: English