The Maddaddam Trilogy, by Margaret Atwood

Staff Pick
 
For fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Testaments who enjoy Atwood's knack for building dystopian landscapes that are eerily close to our own, now's the time to immerse yourself in the bio-engineered world of The Maddaddam Trilogy. Over the course of three books (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and Maddaddam), Atwood travels back and forth across time and perspective to reveal the cause-and-effect of a devastating plague. Atwood doesn't shy away from the big questions: where do we draw the line between "good" vs. "evil," or "nature" vs. "nurture"? What is worth preserving, and who is worthy of redemption? (Read it now and catch Michael Lesslie's television adaptation--coming soon!)
MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

The Undocumented Americans, by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio

Staff Pick
 
For a book that tucks easily into the back pocket of your jeans, The Undocumented Americans packs quite a punch. Villavicencio's writing is unforgiving and unidealized--her stories of the undocumented are detached from the hateful, fearmongering rhetoric of anti-immigration movements, but also from the (sometimes) picturesque, cherry-picked narratives fostered by those who support immigration reform. Instead, Villavicencio offers a stream-of-conscious blend of objective journalism and heightened realism that is--like many of her subjects--impossible to categorize. These are stories about our neighbors. These are stories about us.
The Undocumented Americans Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399592706
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: One World - April 6th, 2021

Nudge: The Final Edition, by Richard H. Thaler, Cass R. Sunstein

Staff Pick
There have been countless "pandemic books," both fresh takes and old favorites whose popularity has surged as readers everywhere seek hope, catharsis, and escape. Back in 2020, a friend recommended Thaler and Sunstein's Nudge as I clawed desperately for answers, and although I've read 60+ books since the pandemic began, Nudge is truly my "pandemic book." Count me unsurprised that the authors thought to revise and re-release the book, tying in some of its core principles to the advent of Covid-19. Read it to discover the book's beloved standbys like "choice architecture" and "libertarian paternalism," and buckle in for brand new content on "Smart Disclosure," "choice engines," "sludge," and more!
Nudge: The Final Edition Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143137009
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Penguin Books - August 3rd, 2021

Pages